Riemann theorems

Today was the day I recapped some of the foundational theorems in algebraic geometry in preparation for my qual. It struck me how infrequently I usually work with curves and their massive divisor groups – I cut my teeth on intersection theory of surfaces – so I took some pleasure in reviewing some classical facts about line bundles on curves from my qual reference Gathmann, and from Vakil’s class notes. There are some goodies about hyperelliptic curves of genus 2 and 3 to keep you (or at least me) entertained.

Leave a Reply

